The Spirit of Christmas

I’ve been talking back and forth with a friend who is having a hard time this Christmas season.  She feels her life is very blessed, but little things keep going wrong and people keep letting her down, and it’s getting her down.  I can certainly understand that feeling.  I always have a hard time during the holidays; they call it the “winter blues” sometimes.  I am very much a creature of habit and from the week of Thanksgiving through the New Year, it seems schedules are made to be broken.  It throws me totally out of sync and by the first week of January, I just feel totally down and depressed.  During this time, anything people do seems to frustrate and confuse me; nothing is right, nothing suits me. 

Today was no different.  I had surgery two weeks ago and I know that I’ve been overdoing it the past 2-3 days.  However, I needed to get some things done today, including buying the rest of the gifts I needed.  I left the house at 9:15, not feeling that great.  I thought I was getting a jump on things and would beat the crowds.  Wrong!  I went to the bookstore and even though I was only there 20 minutes, I stood in line at least that long.  Everyone in front of me seemed to have a ton of gifts and need something special for every one.  Then every store I went to was the same…why weren’t people at work at 10:00 a.m. on a Friday?  I know they didn’t all have surgery like me!  Good grief.  My sixth and last stop was the grocery store.  I didn’t want to go, but figured I might was well.  I was tired, I was sore and I knew I was overdoing it once again. 

I pushed the buggy around through the crowded store, buying what I needed and I few things I didn’t.  I did not have a full buggy, but when I got to the front the self-check was full and there were only 2 cashiers open, backed up 4 deep.  Unbelievable…this busy right before Christmas, and we have to wait.  I got in line, knowing that I should not be standing there.  Just as I walked up, a cashier on another lane pulled another lady over but didn’t open the lane.  I stayed where I was, wishing she’d open up too.  A woman came up behind me and asked if that lane was open.  I told her what had happened and she went to the cashier and then motioned me over!  Awesome.  She had no idea how grateful I was to her!  I thanked her profusely and told her that I’d just had surgery and really appreciated it.  She was my little ray of sunshine today in the Christmas hustle and bustle.  Now, I know that she didn’t do it for me…she wanted to get out of there quickly too!  But the thing is, she could have ignored me and gotten in line herself; she didn’t, she let me go first.  There are good people out there…there really are!

Leave a Reply

