I Finished a 10K!

Yes, you read it correctly!  I walked a 10K in 1 hour and 48 minutes!  I was not the last one to finish, and I am SO proud of myself.  God has yet again given me the strength to keep going and keep getting healthier!  I signed up for Run the Reagan several weeks ago.  I have been walking around Stone Mountain so I figured, hey, that’s 5 miles up and down hills, I can definitely do 6.3 on an open parkway!  And I did. 

At first I was a bit intimidated because EVERYONE was running.  But after they got ahead of us, the walkers were left.  I kept thinking I’d come in last…but I didn’t!  I was 8th from the bottom.  I honestly don’t know why I keep being so amazed. I know God can do anything, but the fact that I can do anything with him behind me is now becoming SO obvious.  It’s amazing!  I don’t know how to say it any clearer…absolutely amazing! 

Everything just worked out perfectly!  It was overcast, cool, but not cold.  It drizzed on us for about 1/3 of the time, but didn’t pour.  Everyone was so nice.  I found it especially nice that many of the 1/2 marathoneers would tell you things like “good job, keeping going!” or give you a thumbs up as they passed by you.  Overall it was a really good experience, so good that I am now considering doing the Publix 5K at the ING Marathon on March 28th. They don’t have a 10K and I think the 1/2 Marathon is for “real” runners.  It’s really exhilarating to do all of these things that I never, ever thought about doing before.  They weren’t even in my realm of consciousness…at all!  Now, I’m LOOKING for things to do: hikes in the mountains with my husband, 10Ks, 5Ks. I’m sure there are things out there for me to do that I have never even heard of. And I can’t wait. 

This has truly opened up new doors for me and I can’t wait to go through them and see what’s on the other side!

My first 10K!

My first 10K!

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” – Philippians 4:13

Leave a Reply

