In the end…what really matters.

If I sit and think what really makes me want to write, it always comes back to my faith in some shape, form or fashion.  Recently I had a “chat” on Facebook with an old friend.  This old friend and I have been through much in the almost 27 years we have known each other.  We met in the fall of my sophomore year of college, 1982 at Clemson.  If I sat and wrote about everything we have been through, you would obviously understand our relationship better, but let’s suffice it to say that ours is a relationship of mutual respect and “agreeing to disagree.”  There are many things in this friend’s life that I don’t agree with, as I am absolutely sure there are many things in my life he does not agree with. What am I about to write is probably one of those things.

944508711Many people want to sit and pass judgment on this friend and others like him for his sexual orientation.  I don’t understand it, and I may not agree with it, but you know what?  I don’t think I’m meant to understand and agree with everything on this earth that God has chosen not to show me.  What I must understand is that whether I consider someone’s sexual orientation a sin or not, and whether God considers it a sin or not, He most certainly considers things I’ve done in my life a sin and in His eyes the sin of my gluttony or sloth are the same as the sin of someone’s sexual orientation.  I’m not arguing whether your sexual orientation is a choice or a sin; the point I’m trying to make is that a sin is a sin is a sin, at least in God’s eyes.  Yes, if sexual orientation is a sin, then you should recognize it and turn away from it.  But I can guarantee you there are things in my life that I don’t think are a sin that God does, that I haven’t turned away from, but that I will be judged for in the hereafter.  I, in good consciense, cannot stand and “judge” anyone on any facet of their life without being wholey open to having my life scrutinized in the same way.  “He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her,” is what the Bible says.  I believe the Bible with all my heart and soul, and in the end, what really matters is that you believe that Jesus died on the cross for my sins, your sins and her sins.  The one thing that makes us all equal is our humanity, our sin.  Not one of us is better than the other at any point in our lives.  “For God so loved the world that He sent His only begotten son that whosoever believeth in Him shall have eternal life.”

On this beautiful, gorgeous, glorious day that God has made, let’s all truly believe that Jesus died for our sins and try to do better in our efforts to love each other and judge not, lest you be judged. There is enough judgment in our legal systems without us passing it on each other in our daily lives. Love is what we need. For in the end, isn’t that what really matters?

One thought on “In the end…what really matters.

Leave a Reply

