Marriage…new surprises!

After being married almost 12 1/2 years, I have to admit, our marriage felt a little stale. Scott will tell you the same thing. We did the same thing every day: get up, go to work, come  home, watch TV, go to bed, do it over the next day.  Weekends might include a trip to a Mexican restaurant and almost always included a nap on Saturday and/or Sunday.  We both had begun to feel that we needed friends and people besides the other person; you just can’t be everything for someone!

Hiking in SC, March 2009

Hiking in SC, March 2009

But, as luck would have it, just when we were beginning to feel stale, God had a plan for making us realize what we had and how good we had it.  Two weekends ago was the first weekend that we (or mostly Scott) had to spend taking care of his elderly mother after her two strokes and congestive heart failure in May.  She has been in the hospital and nursing home from May 27th until August 5th.  Scott went over after work on Friday and stayed until he went to work on Tuesday morning.  I was there every day, and he did get out for a few bike rides, trips to the store, etc. 

What it made me realize on my end is that I depend on him just being there! He’s always here and if he’s not, I know where he is and when he’ll be in.  I depend on him to just be there.  You’ve heard of the 7-year itch?  Well, I think we had the 12-year-staleness.  God has a way of taking care of things. Not only did it make me appreciate Scott, it made him appreciate me.  I so love my husband!  And whether it’s his mother or someone else, I don’t like sharing! Be that good or bad, he’s mine! 

Panama City Beach, May 2009

Panama City Beach, May 2009

Then this week, He brought it even closer to home.  I had a massive migraine last Sunday driving home from Scott’s mom’s house.  I had to pull off the road and call 911.  I’ve never been that scared in my life.  I was tingling in my hands and feet, scared that I was having an anerurism or a stroke…at 46!?  Scott came, the ambulance came, and we went to the hospital.  After 9 hours in the ER, the diagnosis seems to be severe migraine made worse by my hyperventilating (thus the tingling).  A head CT and a lumbar puncture showed no bleeding on the brain, but did result in an after effect headache that sent me back to the ER for a “blood patch” on the lumbar site.

I am still recooperating somewhat after taking it easy for a few days, but needless to say, Scott and I are closer than ever.  The little things don’t irritate me as much now; the fact that he’s here with me all weekend is all it’s taking to make me happy and thankful that I have a wonderful husband who loves me and can look past all my annoying habits, as I can his. Tell your spouse you love them today!

Clemson, October 2008

Clemson, October 2008

3 thoughts on “Marriage…new surprises!

Leave a Reply

